Wednesday, December 04, 2013

Gluten Free Guacamole

Avocados do not contain gluten. Most of the ingredients used in guacamole recipes are gluten free: garlic, salt, lemon juice, chiles, tomatoes, onions. 
Our gluten free avocado grove

Use cucumber or jicama spears for scooping the guacamole and you'll still be gluten free. Only if you use crackers or other processed food containing grain products do you have to worry about gluten. 

Check the ingredient declaration of any processed food for wheat or grain products or their derivatives. The FDA labeling regulations regarding gluten free claims, long and complicated, are worth reading and understanding if you are gluten sensitive.

Meanwhile, eat all the guacamole you want!

1 comment:

  1. Was this for me? I'm so sick of this gluten free diet. I'm dying for a donut. Or a frito to scoop up some guacamole.